On Friday 1 July 2022 the Sonic Exploration Network of South Africa (SenSA) will be hosting their first evening of experimental music: SENSA Boundary Conditions.

Carrying forward the ethos of the well-known Edge of Wrong event series, this mini-festival will feature exploratory musicians from across South Africa.

Boundary Conditions seeks to radically transgress the artificial limits of genre and convention, showcasing music that has no desire to show its passport to the border police, in a way that subverts everyday expectations of listening and performing, moving from passive spectacle to the co-creation of a shared sonorous world.


  • Africa Open Improvising
  • Aragorn23
  • blackcreem
  • Chantelle Gray
  • Indigenous Frequency Cast
  • Mawethu Mapotolo
  • Maxim Starcke
  • nonentia
  • Thylasine
  • Desire Lines and Nightelf Kitsune (Pop-Up Shibari performance)
  • Alcast (VJ)

The address will be provided with successful ticket purchase (check the PDF attached to your confirmation email). The venue is an industrial space in Salt River, Cape Town.

Contact SenSA for inquiries:

Ticket price: R150
Starting time: 7pm


The new album by Jonas Reinhardt entitled “A Ragged Ghost” is out! Download the album here: I guest playing saxophone on the track ‘Wretched Orchestra of Armistice”. ![](#file_247a8d2f5f#)

CREDITS released January 20, 2022 Written and recorded by Jonas Reinhardt Mixed by Jonas Reinhardt with John Thayer in New York City. All music performed by Jonas Reinhardt except saxophone on “Wretched Orchestra of Armistice” by Maxim Starcke Mastered by Lawrence English Artwork by Samantha Wendel


I contributed alto saxophone to Jonas Reinhardt’s half of this Abstrakce Records release JONAS REINHARDT / JÜRGENLLER – “The Encyclopedia Of Civilizations: Egypt”

The LP is the first volume on “The Encyclopedia of Civilizations”, a collection of split LP’s just started at Abstrakce where selected artists offer their own insight into fascinating ancient cultures. In this volume music is inspired by ancient Egypt and comes with a 10-page booklet with images and texts explaining historic facts. The texts written by Juan Ruiz - a Spanish archaeologist and researcher - in a half scientific/half poetic way rounds the music and transports you to the Ancient Egypt to get the whole listening experience. The careful design of the edition also helps: Egyptian colors (sand, electric blue, gold) and a sleeve printed in the old way, letterpressed with metal movable type as Gutemberg used to do it.